
E-BIKES 
& E-SCOOTERS

UNDERSTANDING THE LAW 
PROTECTING OUR COMMUNITY



THE FOCUS OF THIS PRESENTATION IS 
PUBLIC EDUCATION AND PUBLIC SAFETY

Why is e-bike safety a concern?

What is the law regarding different classes of e-bikes & e-scooters?

What do parents need to do?

What are the rules of safe riding and what are legal considerations 
for e-bike riders – and their parents?

What can we all do to keep our community safe?

What is the Mountain Lakes Police Department doing to educate the 
public and enforce the law?



E-BIKES: A GROWING PUBLIC 
SAFETY CONCERN

 Nationally, e-bike crashes, injuries, and 
fatalities have been growing exponentially over 
the past 5 years

 Locally, there are numerous reports of unsafe 
use of e-bikes by children and teens

 E-bike users and the parents of e-bike users 
need to understand the law and be responsible 
for their own safety – and the safety of those 
around them



WHAT ARE THE 3 CLASSES OF E-BIKES 
AND APPLICABLE LAWS FOR E-BIKES 
AND E-SCOOTERS? 



CLASS 1 E-BIKE

Power Source:  
Electric

Propulsion Method:  
Pedal

Max Assisted Speed:

20 MPH

Minimum Age:  
None

Helmet:

Required if under 17 
years old

License/Registration:

Not Required

Allowed on:  Streets, 
shared use paths, 
paved bikeways, 
surface trails, and 

can park on 
sidewalks.

 Under New Jersey law (N.J. Stat. § 39:1-1), Class 1 e-bikes are regulated as “low-speed 
electric bicycles.” A Class 1 e-bike is a low-speed electric  bicycle equipped with a motor 
that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide 
assistance when the bicycle reaches a speed of 20 miles per hour.

 Class 1 e-bikes are generally governed by the same rules of the road as bicycles.   
However, they must still follow applicable motor vehicle laws and are subject to 
summonses if they violate the law. 



CLASS 2 E-BIKE

 Under New Jersey law (N.J. Stat. § 39:1-1), both Class 2 e-bikes are regulated as “low-

speed electric bicycles.” A Class 2 low-speed electric bicycle is a low-speed electric 

bicycle equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle, and 

that is not capable of providing assistance when the bicycle reaches a speed of 20 miles 

per hour.

 Class 2 e-bikes are generally governed by the same rules of the road as bicycles.  
However, they must still follow applicable motor vehicle laws and are subject to 

summonses if they violate the law.  

Power Source:  

Electric

Propulsion Method:

Pedal and throttle

Max Assisted Speed:

20 MPH

Minimum Age:  

None

Helmet:

Required if under 17 
years old

License/Registration:

Not Required

Allowed on:  

Streets, shared use 
paths, paved 

bikeways, surface 
trails, and can park 

on sidewalks.



CLASS 3 E-BIKE

Power Source:  

Gas or Electric

Propulsion Method:

Pedal and optional 
throttle

Max Assisted 
Speed:

28 MPH

Minimum Age:

15 Years Old

Helmet:

Required for all 
ages

License/Registration:

Both Required

Allowed on:

Streets when speed limit is 
up to 50 mph, shared use 
paths, paved bikeways, 
surface trails.  Cannot  

park on sidewalks.

 Under New Jersey law (N.J. Stat. § 39:1-1), Class 3 e-bikes are “motorized bicycles.” The 

engine must have a maximum piston displacement of less than 50 cc or no more than 1.5 

brake horsepower, or an electric motor that can propel the vehicle at least 20 mph, but 

no more than 28 mph. 

 Class 3 e-bikes are generally governed by the same rules of the road as bicycles.  
However, they must still follow applicable motor vehicle laws and are subject to 
summonses if they violate the law. 



LOW SPEED E-SCOOTER

 Under New Jersey law (N.J. Stat. § 39:1-1), a “low-speed electric scooter” is a scooter with 

a floorboard that can be stood upon by the operator, with handlebars, and an electric 

motor that is capable of propelling the device with or without human propulsion at a 

maximum speed of less than 19 miles per hour.

 Low-speed electric scooters are generally governed by the same rules of the road as 

bicycles.  However, they must still follow applicable motor vehicle laws and are subject to 

summonses if they violate the law. 

Power Source:  

Electric

Propulsion Method:

Kickstart and 
throttle

Max Assisted Speed:

19 MPH

Minimum Age:  

None

Helmet:

Required if under 17 
years old

License/Registration:

Not Required

Allowed on:  

Streets, shared use 
paths, paved 

bikeways, surface 
trails, and can park 

on sidewalks.

For additional information go to:  https://njbikeped.org/
State of NJ and Rutgers University

https://njbikeped.org/


HOW DO YOU KNOW WHAT 
CLASS YOUR E-BIKE IS?

 As of January 2019, e-bikes must be tagged and labeled 
with their classification in New Jersey

 The label should be permanently affixed in a prominent 
location and include:
 Classification number (1, 2, or 3)
 Top assisted speed
 Motor Wattage
 Beware… Some e-bikes are not labeled accurately by the 

retailers or manufacturers.  It is the owner’s responsibility to 
be sure the e-bike is in compliance (max speed, motor size, 
etc.) with the regulations of the class reflected on the label



WARNING!

An e-bike is defined by its maximum speed and motor size

 Contrary to what a retailer may tell you, “selector switches” do not define the e-bike class.  It is the 
motor size and maximum speed.  A bike that is capable of going 40 mph, but has a switch to govern it 
at 20 mph, is considered a 40 mph motor vehicle and not an e-bike.

 A bike may be stamped with a “Class 2” rating by the manufacturer/retailer, but if the motor is 
greater than 750 Watts or the maximum assisted speed is in excess of 20 mph, the bike is 
considered a Class 3 e-bike.  Therefore, the operator must have a license and the e-bike must be 
registered.  If the e-bike exceeds the Class 3 maximum motor size or speed, the bike is either not 
street legal or is considered a motor vehicle and must be registered and insured.

 The operator of an “e-bike” that exceeds Class 3 specifications can be issued a motor vehicle 
summons, and have the vehicle impounded.  If the operator does not have a driver’s license, the 
summonses will likely delay their eligibility to receive their driver’s license.



SAFE RIDING

 E-bike and e-scooter users, in most cases, have the same right to the 
road as motor vehicle drivers and are required to follow the same laws, 
including riding in the direction of traffic and obeying all stop signs and 
traffic signals.

 Riding safely means being attentive, predictable, and visible. As much 
as possible, ride where people can see you. New Jersey law requires all 
bicycles, e-bikes, and e-scooters to have a front white light, rear red 
light, and a bell.

 E-bike and e-scooter drivers should ALWAYS wear a helmet, even when 
it is not mandatory. Helmets are REQUIRED for youth under age 17.

 E-bike and e-scooters must be parked without blocking pedestrian 
and/or wheelchair access.



LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS
 Although legal e-bikes are treated as bicycles, riders must still abide by the applicable 

motor vehicle laws.  Violations are generally fine-based.

 A summons for a violation may delay a minor from attaining his/her driver’s license.

 Remember, if the e-bike is capable of going faster than 28 mph or the motor is larger 
than allowable in NJ statute, it considered a motor vehicle or it is not street legal at all.  
The operator must have a valid NJ Driver’s License with a Motorcycle Endorsement, 
and the vehicle must be registered and insured.

 If an unlicensed individual is operating a Class 3 e-bike or larger, the driver’s parents 
may be charged with allowing an unlicensed driver to operate a motor vehicle. The 
penalties are a $200 - $500 fine and possible jail term up to 15 days.

 There is also Significant Civil Liability for drivers and their parents: 

 Motor vehicle accidents involving or caused by e-bikes.

 Injuries due to multiple riders, improper riding, traffic violations, or operating an 
e-bike that is not considered a Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike.

 There is currently no liability insurance coverage for e-bikes. Check with your 
homeowner’s insurance to see if you are covered.



WHAT DO PARENTS NEED TO DO?

Educate yourselves and your childrenEducation

Make sure your children know the rules and comply with themRules

- Make sure your child is mature enough to handle the responsibility of driving an e-vehicle
- Do not buy Class 3 e-bikes or non-street legal e-bikes for underage/non-licensed children 

Age/Ability 
Appropriate

Be sure your e-bike has not been tampered with to increase speedNo Tampering



WHAT CAN WE ALL DO?

Report reckless e-bike or e-scooter use.

Follow the New Jersey Safe Passing Law: This law requires motorists 
to change lanes to pass pedestrians, bikers, e-bikers, and e-scooter 
drivers. If another lane is not available, drivers must slow down to 25 
mph and wait until they have enough room to pass with at least four 
feet to spare.

Slow down and look out for one another!



MOUNTAIN LAKES POLICE DEPT RESPONSE

 Public Education:  
 Town Hall education sessions and communications pushed out to the 

community

 Officers stopping young e-bike riders to discuss e-bike safety and determine 
what class of vehicle they are riding.

 Increased Enforcement: 
 Officers actively looking for e-bike traffic violations such as stop signs, 

crosswalks, multiple riders, careless driving, reckless driving, speeding, and 
helmet law violations.

 Parents are subject to fines when a minor is not wearing a helmet while 
riding.



THE GOAL OF THE MOUNTAIN LAKES POLICE DEPARTMENT IS TO 
ENSURE THAT ALL E-BIKE AND E-SCOOTER RIDERS OPERATE THEIR 
VEHICLES RESPONSIBLY, SAFELY AND IN COMPLIANCE WITH 
APPLICABLE LAWS. 

NO OFFICER EVER WANTS TO HAVE TO INVESTIGATE A MOTOR 
VEHICLE CRASH INVOLVING AN E-BIKE OR E-SCOOTER. 
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